A beautiful old red brick farmhouse, nestled not too far off a country sideroad in Mono, Ontario, is this edition’s pick for our Abandoned Spaces series. While the home itself still has an owner, currently a construction corporation, it sits empty, waiting for someone to restore it back to its original beauty, and continue its rich tradition as part of Mono’s history.
Known as Maplehurst, the home is unique in many ways, not the least of which was that it was part of a farm that had been owned by a single family for 145 years. Often this type of home would be referred to as a “foursquare”, because of its square footprint; two rooms wide by two rooms deep, and complete with a wide eaved hip roof, centre dormer, and projecting frontispiece.
Built in 1922, the home is a good example of classic 20th century Edwardian architecture, popular in the area at the turn of the century. The building’s exterior is still comprised of many original elements, including its brick, eaves, dormer, front porch columns, and a sun porch.
Samuel Newton, a respected farmer in the community and one the first members of the Loyal Orange Lodge, first leased the lands from the Canada Company in 1843. The three-generation Maplehurst farmhouse had been owned by the Newton family up until 1988.
Currently, and sadly, the future of this charming historical jewel is unknown. The company that currently owns the property would like to demolish it, to make way for a proposed gravel pit. Mono council is fighting very hard to apply heritage designation to this beautiful old home under Part V of the Ontario Heritage Act, in order to prevent its demolition.
Given its history and architectural details, the Mono Heritage Advisory Committee considers Maplehurst to be a local landmark. According to the heritage report, the Province may only consider the exterior details of the house for designation as a heritage building, however there are still many original architectural elements comprising the interior, including the tongue and groove wooden ceilings, original wood banister, and detailed wainscoting.
Written by: Kelli M. Maddocks | Photography: Matt Maddocks
Resources: Orangeville Citizen | Mono Town Council Notes and Presentations